Repaving Idaho-Photos

Idaho Street south of Risner in La Habra Saturday late Saturday afternoon. (Photo credit:Cindy Cotter)

The stretch of Idaho Street, south of Imperial Highway, is usually a pleasant drive. The road drops out of the Coyote Hills, passing upscale homes, a park and a golf course. La Habra spreads out ahead of you, with the Puente Hills and beyond them the San Gabriel Mountains providing the perfect backdrop. The traffic is light, the scenery is pleasant.

Except for last Saturday.

(Photo credit:Cindy Cotter)

Idaho was being repaved. I was there from about four till a little after five in the evening. The sun was low, the air smelled like asphalt, traffic was backed up, and tempers were rising. Only one lane (instead of two) was open in each direction, but even that was periodically closed by heavy equipment. Cars weren’t moving at all.

Idaho Street in La Habra, just south of Risner, Saturday afternoon, Feb. 13, 2010. (Photo credit:Cindy Cotter)

(Photo credit:Cindy Cotter)

(Photo credit:Cindy Cotter)

(Photo credit:Cindy Cotter)

(Photo credit:Cindy Cotter)

(Photo credit:Cindy Cotter)

(Photo credit:Cindy Cotter)

(Photo credit:Cindy Cotter)

(Photo credit:Cindy Cotter)

(Photo credit:Cindy Cotter)

3 Comments

Filed under Government Services

3 responses to “Repaving Idaho-Photos

  1. Luis Guzman

    Hi Cindy my name is Luis Guzman, I work for All American Asphalt. I was working that day the paving was going on, and I was wondering if u had more pictures of that day. I was working on the tractor and i believe u also took a picture of me being silly flexing for the camera. You game me your info when i approached u as you were leaving and also took a picture of me there. If you can please email them to me or post them up it would be very much appreciated… thanks a bunch and have a wonderful day…. be safe out there.

  2. The muscle-man pose didn’t come out. Too bad, it was a lot of fun. But I’ll email the other photos I have of you and I’ll try to put up a slideshow of everything I’ve got later today.

  3. Luis, I wasn’t able to email the photos — the address didn’t work. But for Luis and anyone else who may be interested, here’s a link to several more photos of the repaving that I’ve uploaded to Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/cindycotter/sets/72157623508071066/

Leave a Reply

